Print this page

About Us

The International Protection Appeals Tribunal was established in December 2016 in accordance with section 61 of the International Protection Act 2015. The Tribunal is a statutorily independent body and exercises a quasi-judicial function under the International Protection Act 2015. 

The function of the International Protection Appeals Tribunal is to hear and determine appeals on decisions made by the International Protection Officer on applications for protection status in the State. The Tribunal also determines appeals under the International Dublin System Regulations.

Members of the Tribunal and Chairperson's Guidelines

The following is a list of the Members of the Tribunal who are serving:
Member Date of appointment
Hilkka Becker, Solicitor (Chairperson) 31st December 2016
John Stanley, B.L. (Deputy Chairperson) 13th February 2017
Helen Johnson, B.L. 26th August 2014
Emma Toal, B.L. 26th August 2014
Patrick Hurley, Solicitor 10th November 2014
Bernadette McGonigle, Solicitor 25th February 2015
Kieran Falvey, B.L. 25th February 2015
Louis Dockery, Solicitor 25th February 2015
Rory de Bruir, B.L. 25th February 2015
Anne Colley, Solicitor 25th February 2015
Olive Brennan, B.L. 25th February 2015
Una McGurk, S.C. 25th February 2015
Kim Walley, Solicitor 25th February 2015
Shauna Ann Gillan, B.L. 25th February 2015
Paul Brennan, Solicitor 18th August 2015
Mark William Murphy, B.L. 18th August 2015
Brian Cusack, B.L. 18th August 2015
Byron Wade, B.L. 18th August 2015
Agnes McKenzie, B.L. 18th August 2015
Ann Marie Courell, B.L. 18th August 2015
Patricia O'Connor, Solicitor 18th August 2015
Caroline Counihan, B.L. 18th August 2015
Marguerite Fitzgerald, Solicitor 18th August 2015

Chairperson's Guidelines


Submitting an Appeal

To submit an appeal to the International Protection Appeals Tribunal, please click on the link below:

Contact the Tribunal

The Offices of the International Protection Appeals Tribunal are located at:

6/7 Hanover Street East

Dublin 2


Tel: +353(0)1 4748400

Lo Call: 1890 201 458

^ Back to top